My name is Sarah Charles. I am 35 years old this year.

I live in beautiful Everett, Washington.  Life began for me in Portland, Oregon. Due to problems that my birth parents had, I ended up getting adopted and raised in Skamania, Washington, another beautiful part of  Washington State.

I grew up on 42 acres of field and forest and developed a love for nature, animals, and the outdoors.  I also learned I was part Native American, according to a recent genetic test, only about .1% confirmed, but that led me to an increased interest in Native Americans and I read extensively about them, their history and culture, etc.

I have always been an avid reader and have long enjoyed writing as well and organizing my thoughts. School was easy for me in the way of grades, but I was painfully shy and never had many friends.  My parents did not particularly encourage extra-curricular activities in school either, so I did little outside of my studies, but did enjoy theater, writing for my High School newspaper, and was involved in Knowledge Bowl and Youth and Government.

Following High School, I attended Ricks College in Rexburg, Idaho and continued on to the four-year Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah where I got a Bachelor’s degree in English.  Following graduation and a failed attempt to get into the Graduate program there, I went to Taiwan to teach English and enjoyed doing that for 3 years at a private school where I taught Kindergarten and Elementary-aged kids.  It was a great experience for me and taught me much about what I was capable of.  I also became much more familiar with the Mandarin Chinese language!

When I arrived back to the states, I spent some time being with friends and family and relaxing.  Then I had to figure out what I was going to do next.  I didn’t know what to do.  I was living with my parents until they kicked me out and helped me find my own apartment to set me on my way to being independent.

They encouraged me to go to a singles ward (a congregation of the LDS Church meant for singles up to the age of 30).  I ended up getting married to a man I met there. Learn more about our relationship in my first post “Some thoughts on love and marriage”!

Now I am living in Everett, Washington, divorced and kind of dating someone.  I work as a residential support staff for people with developmental disabilities and have also been an online instructor for BYU Idaho’s Pathway program.  I completed teaching an English 106L class for English language learners on that online program as well as a basic life-skills class. I learned much from teaching those classes, but am not doing it currently.  I have also been tutoring English language learners for  quite a few years and completed a Master’s Degree in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) at Seattle University a couple years ago or so.

Enjoy this blog that I have created sharing some of my poems and writings.

Contact me through  this blog perhaps or my email: sarahhaskew@hotmail.com

Thank you!